GoDaddy

GoDaddy

Pros

Well known web hosts, excellent value for money.

Cons

Customer support leaves a lot to be desired, expensive re-bills

Overall Score

90%
View Host
Intro

GoDaddy Profile

GoDaddy is perhaps one of the best known and biggest domain registrars on the internet, offering good value hosting alongside good quality support. Altough good value for money some of the lower plans are fairly limited offering less than the competition.

Customer Opinions & Reviews

Here are some of the best things users say about GoDaddy

Avatar

Mike - 3 years ago

Raised my renewal 40% and customer service rep was not helpful, she was not to interested to help me, also had a snotty tone.... Time to find a new host!

Avatar

Bill C. - 3 years ago

what a shame.. i missed a payment and godaddy wiped out my web site and all my e-mail. then had the nerve to want to charge me over $140.00 to get it back. never again....

Avatar

Robin Herman - 3 years ago

horrible tech support. Nickel and dime accounts with renewals - you pay for EVERYTHING.

Avatar

Norma Lee - 3 years ago

Incredibly unknowledgeable techys...need to keep switching to "other department" Templates are difficult to negotiate.Their one great thing...getting you to sign up for additional services & charges. Stay Away!

Avatar

Anne - 3 years ago

Please avoid go daddy they are only interested in getting your money.

Avatar

Chris - 3 years ago

Just canceled with them after a month for telling me that they are able to host Laravel on their shared servers. Then when we tried to install Laravel 5 though their software installation panel, we got an error telling us we needed to upgrade the PHP version on our host site. Went back in to cpanel to select the version and it was not there. Called support ... they told us that they cannot upgrade to the PHP version needed. That we needed a dedicated server. Told them that their sales team knew of our requirements before we chose to go with them, Support guy pretty much said nothing he can do. I was forced to cancel and take an in store credit because they cannot send me a check for the refund?? Buyer Beware, they have too many customers to worry about you.

Avatar

Keri - 3 years ago

I've had them for years. There services lacks and my website has had its fair share of downtime here lately.. Their fix - give us more money and upgrade your hosting.

Avatar

Georgia - 3 years ago

Really, really disappointed with the service I received from GoDaddy I think their 'award winning support' should have all of their awards rescinded, took me a day to get a response and when I did it was nothing but a copy and paste standard response. Awful!

Avatar

Richard Unwin - 3 years ago

If you live in England leave this host well alone. There is a serious problem getting your emails unless you log one early morning or late at night. It is UK based and Europe is the very poor relation.

Avatar

HECTORCOSME - 3 years ago

This is a piece of ish. they got your money and run. I paid for a two year web and domain and within 4 months it was gone. Vanished website show error when trying to view. they try to say you only paid for your domain and try to get you to pay more for web site builder and try to tack on more stuff. by the time your finish talking to them you are in the hundreds of dollars per month just to have a simple site up. this shouldn't even be in the top ten best. more like the top ten worst investment ever. TORONTOOFFICECLEANINGSERVICE S.CA that use to be my site. Take my advice and pass these fools up and find your way to another. I use wix now and even though they cant provide me with a .Ca domain at least my sight is still up with them.

Avatar

Mary - 3 years ago

Wanted to migrate a five-page HTML website over, thinking it would be simple. It was a nightmare getting the web form to work. They could not give me a simple sendmail program to reference in my formmail. I had to install one of two "tools" that let you configure a form. It forced me to add the form to a database and I couldn't get it to mail the form. Overkill that never did work.

Avatar

Tracy - 3 years ago

Signed up thinking it would integrate easily with shipping and bookkeeping features-it does not. The GoDaddy Bookkeeping cannot handle our Destination Sales Tax laws, so we had to switch to Quickbooks. It can't even link with a shipping company, so now I have to import GoDaddy to Excel then to our shipping method website. All the features it says it will do easily are not true. We could not be more disappointed.

Avatar

Kaitlyn - 3 years ago

Be very careful when you sign up for a domain name. They sneak in the domain protection, which is a charged service, and do not tell you. They will not let you transfer the domain name, close your account or anything without sending a copy of your driver's license AND signing a contract. Big rip-off

Avatar

Jacquelyne Mayo - 3 years ago

Right after a paid, less than a day later, they shut down my website because they wanted to check my id. I emailed my id and then they said I needed to show a picture of the card/bank that I used to pay for it. I sent that in. Then they said it would take them 72 hours to review, and they shut down my account. All my payment methods are legitimate and my clients and myself will lose business behind it. I need a hosting site that is dependable and available.

Avatar

Keith Smith - 3 years ago

I have used GoDaddy for about 6-months (from Jan 2015) and during that time support was without any problems; however now (July 2015) I have been unable to make ANY contact using phone or Chat. I have tried for over a week and at all times of the day and night -- NOTHING! I was sucked in to moving two additional domains there and now can't upload any files to these domains, nor can I update a previous domain!! Even though it will cost me several hundred dollars, I am thinking of moving somewhere to get good support. If you are experienced in web work, maybe they are OK, but if you are a neophyte, such as I am-- forget it! Very Frustrating!

Avatar

T Rudiger - 3 years ago

was great for the first month, when it was just $1, but now, i wish i had gone elsewhere, I PAID OVER 20 X WHAT I DID THE FIRST MONTH

Avatar

Jim Johnston - 3 years ago

Will confuse with renewals, customer service is useless. I would never use them again.

Avatar

Elena St-Pierre - 3 years ago

Not so good experience for the moment First, service that menage thing in internet has support by phone only. It nonsense Discovering problem in midnight not so much people will be willing to phone. Second, cancelling there service within 48 hours ( how they mention) don't have any money back yet. have to call them. Summary : I don't have any service with them, and don't have my money. Sound kike with this company you don't have right for mistake.

Avatar

Jake Stratton - 3 years ago

Signed up with go daddy a week or so ago and really struggling to get help on a domain issue i'm having. They are cheap but in hindsight I think i'd pay a little more if it included better support.

Avatar

Jake Stratton - 3 years ago

Signed up with go daddy a week or so ago and really struggling to get help on a domain issue i'm having. They are cheap but in hindsight I think i'd pay a little more if it included better support.

Click Here to Visit GoDaddy